I Blog, because ...

I Blog, because ...

Main reasons that motivate me to keep writing

ยท

3 min read

Hello world! I have been attending Hashnode Bootcamp III and I have more confidence and reasons to keep blogging.

5 reasons

TL;DR

I blog because ...

1. Community Motivation.

community motivation

because I'd love to give back to the community.

I had always wanted to write a blog ever since I started writing code, but it was hard for me to start initially. But since I prefer written tutorials to video ones, I came to learn of many great writers who share great content with the community for free.

What better reason to write technical blogs other than the love for the community ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜, I'd love to thank many writers for their content and motivation and constituency in their blogs, just to mention but a few: Edidiong Asikpo, Catalin's Tech, Ayushi Rawat, Marko Denic and most importantly me Chris Achinga.

2. Documenting My Journey

documenting my journey

because I'd love to remember how I got to where I am

A picture is worth a thousand words they say, I say a blog is worth a thousand memories and happiness. Once I hit a major stepping stone in my career, I have no better way than to write about it and share it with others, some may need that more than I do.

For example, after deciding that I'll have React Native as one of my stacks, I wrote What Is React Native, Building With React Native, and then How I made my first website using an API ๐Ÿ˜Ž because I was really struggling with APIs back then.

3. Explaining My Projects

explaining my projects

because I love explaining to people what I actually do

I am not the creativity-type of person, I kind of love improving what is in existence, so when I build anything that helps me in any way, I definitely have to document the moments ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜.

For example, since I use React frequently and the setting up process is always repetitive and boring ๐Ÿ˜ฉ๐Ÿ˜ฉ at some point, I made me several starter templates, and wrote about one of them here: Creating a React & Bootstrap Template.

This is me telling you I am a developer without telling you I am a developer!! (hope it makes sense ๐Ÿค“๐Ÿค“).

4. Teach.ing My Friends

teaching my friends

because to teach is to learn twice, also good to share knowledge

I enjoy sharing the little I know with my friends and peers. Because talking is cheap, how about I make some notes, write an article and publish it on Hashnode, that way, you can always refer to it anytime and or anywhere. I call it Cloud Learning ๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ˜Ž

I wrote Git & GitHub: Installation and Configuration to help my best friend learn git and GitHub integration. Timothy Wangwe

5. My Blog is My Resume

My Blog is My Resume

because it shows other than tell

Marketing and branding oneself as a self-taught developer is one hell ๐Ÿ˜ฌ๐Ÿ˜ฌ of a task here in my country where many people believe in academic papers, sad right ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ.

I believe showing a person what I do makes more impact than telling, and especially for the non-technical, who may or may not have heard of GitHub and how important it is to me/us, a blog might as well work for them.

Conclusion:

I seriously don't have the 5 reasons only, they are a lot, and writing all of them would make this article longer and bore (it's not even technical right ... ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚). You can get me on Twitter or LinkedIn for a friendly professional chat.

Twitter

LinkedIn

May The Forth Be With You ๐Ÿ––๐Ÿ––๐Ÿ––๐Ÿ––

Chris Achinga